Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Government is always facing problems of this kind and that, present and prospective, plain and perplexing, and has to spend its energy on all these problems in order to build a harmonious and sustainable society. But whether government focuses more on immediate problems than on the anticipated ones of the future concerns the wisdom and strategy that government deals with the relation and sets a priority in order among them. Sometimes, it is difficult to delineate a clear bound if these problems are urgent or can be postponed because of their complexity and difficulty. So, it is the key for government to cope with them in a reasonable, scientific, far-reaching way.

As a matter of fact, there are some relations among problems that government faces——today's problems may recur in the future, while ones in the near or far future may more or less be on the surface at present or can be imagined. These problems, if not being taken seriously, would bring about unimaginable aftermaths. For this reason, it is necessary for government to consider in a thoughtful and tactical way to treat current and anticipated problems.

Admittedly, current problems need to take precedence over the future ones, or the consequences they produce are beyond government's control. There are a lot of examples, such as natural disasters, sudden public incidents, pandemic diseases, economic crisis, and so on. For example, government made rapid responses to the 2003 SARS epidemic, the 2008 Wenchuan earthquake and the 2014 Shanghai stampede, and the 2008 global financial crisis, summoning as many physical and human resources as possible to curb the diffusion and severity of calamity; provided that government did not react swiftly to all various sorts of sudden incidents, heavier losses in properties and lives would have multiplied, cascading down to fear and turmoil in the society, eventually government must pay bigger prices to regulate these situations, which are, even worse, out of control. However, the more government devotes to immediate problems, the less he pays closely attention to the future problems, which is only a stop-gap measure, trapped in the circulation mode of 'head hurt, treat head, feet hurt, treat feet', not beneficial to the solution of all problems.

In regard to this, when immediate problems occur, government should formulate measures to prevent such situations to repeat in the future, which means long-term policies to cope with diverse variables, anticipated or unanticipated. By careful consideration and tactical deployment about public health and security incidents and natural disasters, government should implement flexible policies to prevent them from occurrence or put them under control even if they outbreak. Nonetheless, faced with such anticipated problems as warming atmosphere, deterioration of ecology system, and economic sustainable development, government has to play a long game: beginning from now, this kind of problems must be solved step by step, until in the near future they will not pose a huge danger to human beings. But if not, a picture of the earth would appear——the ice sheets of the poles fast melt, sea level rises, diseases are rampant, extreme weathers are frequent, and the like, all of which seriously threatens human existence. Most importantly, if the earth, the only planet for human habitat, were disappearing owing to the devastation of human activities and the wear-out of its energy, government must start immediately to explore other possible planets so as to escape from earth in the future, just as many developed countries like America and European countries are exercising. So, it is wise for government to look forward what will happen.

In short, government should even the balance between the immediate problems and the anticipated or unanticipated ones so that he can efficiently solve the short-and-long-term problems at the least cost. Only at a macro and strategic level does government confront all kinds of problems at leisure.