Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

How can laws and the legal system affect people and the society they live in as a whole? I agree with the reason that laws are not capable of changing people’s minds immediately, but I hold opposite opinion against the claim that legal system is feckless to solve many problems in our society. First, I will illustrate that laws can tackle a great deal of issues without changing people’s thought. Second, I attempt to argue that legal system gradually cultivate certain ideas in the society through law enforcement and regulation as guidance towards people’s behaviors.

To begin with, the efficacy of legal system does not hinge on its capability of altering people’s ideas, but mainly its compulsory enforcement which citizens have to obey regardless of their will. For example, considering an anti-social person who commits heinous murders and thinks it is justifiable to kill anyone as long as he wishes to. The laws may not be able to change what is in his mind, but it can put him in jail and thus prevent him from threatening the life of others. Following this, I believe that in modern society, the legal system is efficient in dealing with a large amount of issues through its execution. With law enforcement, people are forced to behave in ways that do not harm others, which enables the society as a whole to develop and prosper with stability.

In addition, there are actually scenarios that by regulating people to behave in certain manners, laws influence how people think and thus change their opinion gradually. For example, Chinese people did not regard spitting in the public inappropriate one or two decades ago. There were no law or regulation back then forbidding them doing so. However, it is enacted that spitting in public areas should be prohibited for the sake of sanitary in recent years. People who behave against it would be punished accordingly. With the law enforcement, citizens begin to realize the negative outcome of spitting and think it as boorish and lack of cultivation. Therefore, although laws might not be able to change people’s mind over night, they are influential in the long run.

To reiterate my point, I agree with the reason to certain extent since laws cannot change people’s thought in a short time. However, the claim negating the effect of legal system is untenable for the reasons that law enforcement, regardless of what people think, ensures the well functioning of our society in a powerful manner and can foster social fashion through its guidance step by step.