Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As society progresses, individuals are getting increasingly independent and the importance of family, especially the extended family, has largely reduced in the last decades. From my point of view, we have to admit that this is an inevitable social phenomenon accompanied with industrialization and urbanization. I will attend to more details in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, social advancement has separated family members further apart in distance. Thanks to the convenience provided by trains and planes, people could now migrate unprecedentedly longer than in the past. In the meantime, however, family members lose the chance to accompany with each other. My core family moved from a small town in the central China to the south about twenty years ago in pursuit of better living conditions, and I have not seen most of my extended family members for over five times ever since. Incredible as it may sound, my cousins, aunts, and uncles are, to some extent, like mere acquaintances to me. Naturally, it is hard to say that the extended family is as important to us as it used to be.

One subsequent outcome of long distance is that people do not rely on the extended family for as much emotional support as they did before. As mentioned above, the extended family members usually live near each other in the past when people could encourage, comfort, and care for each other. Thousands of miles away, nowadays, people would have to turn to other resorts when they need a hug. Moreover, individuals are connected to more friends in school and from workplace, who could share their happiness and sorrow. This is particularly true for the younger generation. I myself would sometimes prefer close friends to my parents when I need emotional support, let alone the extended family.

Another aspect in which this generation is less dependent on the extended family is material support. Now we live in a world where everyone could earn a living through honest work. Besides, the relatively perfect education system, public health system, insurance system, and bank system give citizens strong support jointly. Consequently, in the current, people do not need to ask for food or money from the extended family like they did in the time of material scarcity. Again, the extended family plays a less important role in the context of modern society.

To sum up, with the development of our world, people tend to communicate with their extended family members less frequently. Furthermore, they do not rely on each other for emotional or material support like they did in the past. Hence, I agree with the statement that the extended family has become less vital.