Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

What are the issues in a modern society? They include rapes, thefts, murders, divorces, debates on nature etc., politics, corruption to name a few. The claim of the author is that many of the problems of modern society cannot be solved by the law and the legal system. The reason for the assertion is that laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Though law cannot change the behavior of an individual it can pose a limit to the crimes by punishing them for the sins. Law cannot stop rape cases from taking place directly but implicitly it aids in reducing the number of such cases due to fear of punishment. There are many cases where justice has been provided by the legislature to the victims. If a rapist is punished brutally for the immoral act he has done it would serve as an example to the society about the severity of the crime and might lead to change in the behavior of individuals.

The strict laws regarding illegal poaching of animals has led to decrease in such cases encountered. Earlier illegal poaching of animals for individual purpose was very common which led to several species of wildlife being endangered. After the enactment of laws to punish these illegal poaching the amount of animals hunt illegally are reduced and this has led to the problem of wildlife endangerment being tangible to a certain extent.

But there are fields where law cannot solve the the intricacies. Consider, for example corruption. Corruption has led to many innocent people being deceived by the shrewd ones. Although corruption is claimed to be illegal but it still is a problem in modern society. The political system being the topmost example of it. Many potential leaders cannot enter into the governing body because of huge amount of corruption existing in it. There are many cases where politics runs in families, so the post goes into the family. This problem cannot be solved by laws. It is us who need to realize the moral correctness of our behavior.

Also consider terrorism, an issue which has led to massive destruction over the world. Though, terrorism is offense as per the laws but are the law really able to stop it? There are many countries fighting battles due to terrorism. Terrorism is a really big issue which can even lead to world wars if not tempered now. But mere enforcement of law is not helpful here. It is the people's mind and heart that needs to change to pacify such situations and terror attacks.

Hence we can say that, though law cannot solve all the issues of a modern society, it certainly helps in limiting the number of some issues. Law and the legal system have benefited a lot of individuals to gain justice in many matters. But there are certain issues which are beyond the reach of a legal system. They deal mostly with the human morals and behavior. And unless we enhance ourselves morally these issues are difficult get rid of fully just by the means of law and legal system.