The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

leaders are the individuals who lead a cause, one who bears responsibilities related to certain tasks which are under their leadership. The inherent qualities a leader is expected to have include good judgment, the ability to handle the masses, a sense of competition, knowledge and understanding of the agendas and also the ability to co-operate for the greater good. The claim is that to prepare young people for leadership in government, industries or other fields is by instilling them with a sense of co-operation rather than a competition. I partially agree with the claim.

A leader has to be understanding and co-operative in his leadership period. he has to take into consider">consideration all the available ideas and may have to influence his decision on the basis of those ideas. consider a leader who do not appeals to the requests of most of his people. such a leader would only be a liability to the society. History is repleted with may such examples of un-cooperative leaders. consider for example, rule of British in India. Definitely the leaders were not taking into consider">consideration the miseries of Indians and were in turn despised by the people. this ultimately led to wars for emancipation. Thus, if a leader is not co-operative or do not yield to the requests of majority of people, he can be a liability to the entire society.

A leader should be co-operative even with enemies to maintain peace at times. Be it a scenario inthe government or industry, the leaders have to be highly co-operative. consider a coalition government, where leaders from various political parties unite to form a government. different political parties have different agendas which may at times lead in disharmony between the leaders of various political parties. during such times, a leader must not blindly be supporting his party and work only for their agendas. he should be co-operative to other party too and contemplate over the best decision that can be made to pacify the situations.

Although, a leader must be repleted with moral values, we cannot neglect a spirit for competition. it is competition that leads to growth. competition enables the leader to ensure the best measures and be at his best during the work. but it is not solely the need for competition that should drive a good leader. The competition need not be with the outside world. it can be within oneself. this approach leads to growth without hampering the growth of others.

Hence, we can say that although a leader must have an inclination to compete within nations, industry or other cause, but he must not be solely dependent on competition for progress. only focus on competition is not acceptable. There are many other significant matters a leader has to work upon like poverty, economic growth, justice to mention a few. On a whole, a leader has to work towards the welfare of people and the society. For this cause he must be instilled with values such as co-cooperativeness. Hence, young people who are potential of leadership should be inculcated with these values of co-operation more than of competition.