Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

From moral turpitude to ghastly crimes, any modern society is laced with numerous problems of different nature. The author contends that laws and legal system cannot solve many of the society’s problems for the reason that they cannot change what people harbour in their minds or hearts. While, the statement is agreeable in so far that, laws alone don’t suffice for all the societal ills; yet they can mitigate these ills and influence people’s behaviour in longer term.

Admittedly, moral behaviour cannot be legalized by any law. Consider a case of a person who boards a taxi and unconsciously leaves his wallet inside. The cab driver following his conscience calls that person up to return the same. It solely depends on a person’s conscience to discern between what is morally appropriate or inappropriate. If people are morally corrupt, no matter how strict the laws are, when they are given an opportunity or assurance that they are beyond the pursuit of legal system, they don’t refrain from acting criminally to satiate their greed. Crimes committed during mass violence or wars is sufficient to highlights this point. Similarly, politicians and bureaucrats, many a times, tweak laws as per their whims. Moreover, not every aspect of human behaviour can be controlled through legal system. For instance, a child not respecting its elders cannot be threatened by laws. Therefore, these observations corroborates that without a moral compass or proper nurturing of citizens, legal system alone is not enough to solve all the vice of the modern society.

However, the author fails to understand the very principle behind laws and legal system which is to regulate public behaviour and maximize their safety through deterrence. The consequences of violating laws deter people from acting illegally. Without a legal system, a society would witness a jungle like anarchy in which only the mighty would survive and the weaker rest would perish. The prevalence of human rights abuses during medieval times in many of the regions boasting today as modern society irrefutably supports this argument. Similarly, violating established laws is considered a taboo in many societies. This further demoralizes commoners from committing crimes due to the fear of being socially ostracised. In businesses, laws serve to safeguard the rights of the employees as well as the society. If given a free hand, businesses would operate to earn fortunes for their owners with complete disregard to labour rights, environmental protection, consumer rights, tax payments, etc.

Moreover, the author overlooks the long term effect of laws on people’s psyche in his assertion that they can’t change people’s minds or hearts. When a society enacts a law to forbid certain actions hitherto considered lawful, initially people might view it unnatural and may perhaps be unwilling to obey it. However, they slowly start to accept it as a societal norm and the prohibited actions as vice. For example, during Lincoln’s era, slavery of the black population was lawful and has genesis in the belief that blacks are naturally inferior to whites. The anti slavery laws passed by Lincoln administration, on one hand preserved the rights of the blacks, while on the longer term they inculcated a belief in the American society that slavery indeed is a gross crime.

In conclusion, the author is true in his assertion to the extent that legal system alone cannot suffice for abolishing all the problems of the society especially without imbibing moral etiquettes within its citizens. However, he fails to consider that Laws does play a vital role in mitigating those vices, if not completely eradicating them, through deterrence. Finally, the author’s reasoning that legal system cannot change what is in people’s mind or heart can be refuted by considering the long term psychological effects of laws on the society.