Claim: While boredom is often expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction, it should really be a source of embarrassment.

Reason: Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation.

Boredom is a state of feeling weary and impatient due to lack of interest in one’s activity. Every individual suffer from this universal phenomena at some point in their life. The statement contends that boredom is expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction while it should be a source of embarrassment for the reason that boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation. While the author is partially correct in his reasoning, given that boredom can also be caused by several other intrinsic and extrinsic factors, it cannot be a cause for embarrassment.

Admittedly, the author’s reasoning is true in so far that lack of imagination and motivation can also result in boredom. A person with strong creativity and imagination will always find ways to keep himself engaged, no matter how boring his situation can be deemed. It was for this reason that Einstein carried on solving the conundrums of physics on his lonely deathbed. There are many examples of great artists, who when imprisoned, used their time to produce master pieces rather than being overwhelmed by boredom. Further, a person lacking self-motivation would be too lazy to engage in any interesting activity. This aptly illustrated by a common drawing room scene of busy toddlers exploring stuffs around them while their parents vegetate on the couch.

However, beyond this concession, it is difficult to agree with both the author’s claim and reasoning considering many other extrinsic and intrinsic factors which can induce boredom even in the most self-motivated and creative individuals. Firstly, it is the monotony of the task which is a major cause for boredom. People engaged in repetitive and predictable activities will lose the interest over a period. Even the most engaging of activities appear disinteresting after a time. Looking at the previous examples, neither Einstein nor any artist could continue to be engaged in their activity without taking intermittent breaks to divert their attention. Too much of one environment can also result in boredom as corroborated by the desire of urban populace to visit bucolic settings once in a while and vice-versa for the rural population. Moreover, lack of autonomy is also a reason for boredom in many. For example, adolescence is a peak period of boredom because teenagers believe they lack control over their life and executing their ideas.

The claim that boredom is a source of embarrassment and the given reason are both further refuted by the fact that beside lack of motivation and encouragement, there are other internal psychological reasons for boredom. Human brain finds interest in challenging and simulating activities. When there is mismatch between a person’s abilities and available activities, boredom can creep in. A scientist, for example, would always find a clerical job boring. Moreover, some sensation seeking people, such as skydivers or extroverts, are more prone to boredom than the others. They continually seek excitement, variety and thrill in their life. Without an external simulation to satiate their appetite for excitement they would feel bored.

Lastly, boredom is an expression of dissatisfaction of one’s unfulfilling environment rather than a sense of self-satisfaction. To support the author’s claim, some may cite examples of myriad artists, athletes or other professionals who change their field of endeavour after achieving everything in their arena. However, as described before this urge to change is not a result of complacency but rather has genesis in the human psychology of seeking and exploring something new. Finally, instead of a source of embarrassment boredom can be beneficial in many ways. It gives an opportunity to reflect on the source of dissatisfaction and acts as a catalyst for change. It allows one to ponder and contemplate for creative ideas. It is also an indication that a work is a waste of time and not worth continuing.

In conclusion, while lack of imagination and self-motivation can be the reason for boredom, the author goes too far in terming it as a source of embarrassment considering myriad other causes of boredom and even its associated benefits. Finally, contrary to the author’s claim, boredom is an expression of discontent with one’s engagements rather than complacency.