Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Laws are put in place by the governing bodies to ensure the well being and the safety of the people. Laws and legal system make sure that injustice is curbed and the rights of the people are protected. The claim in the prompt suggests that to solve the problems in the modern society, laws and legal systems are inadequate because the minds of the people cannot be amened by the them. I disagree with the prompt and feel that many problems of today's society can be solved with the help of laws for the following reasons.

Firstly, there is a purpose for making laws by the governing bodies. The purpose can vary from protecting the rights of minority to ensuring the safety of the people. When a law is implemented for what so ever the reason may be, the new law can sometimes draw ciriticism from those affected by the law. This may be due to that the people have not apprehended the law completely or may have been misguided by the oppostion bodies or as the prompt suggested - people are not willing to change their mind. However, if the governing bodies are disinterested, diligent and cadid about the purpose of the law, people can be convinced about the benifits of the law can bring to the people. The representatives of the common people can be called for a productive discussion and explain them what is the case and what is not the case with the law. The officials can even conduct debates so as to make the people realize the boons as well as the banes if any in an attempt to change the minds of the people. Thus, as we can see, many problems can be solved by the law and legal systems if people are made to realize the purpose of them.

However, in the realms of our discussion, one cannot ignore a few exceptions. It seems there are a few problems that cannot be solved by the legal system. I am qualifying my support against the claim in the prompt because I witnessed an event in my country where the law was not able to change the people's hearts or minds. Once in every year, people in my neighboring villages fight with sticks to claim ownership of an idol of village god. This has been in practice since ancient times and people believe that this practice should continue even if it seems preposterous in the present more civilized society. People are severly injured in such fights and human rights groups have urged the governement to pass a law prohibiting those fights. And when a law was passed against such practice, the government, to its dismay, received backlash from the villagers. The goverment eventually lifted the ban and the people continue to participate in such fights.

To recapitulate, many problems of modern society can be solved by the law and legal systems if the people are made to realize the purpose of the law. However, there a few problems in which people are adament against adhering to the law and therefore, not all problems can be solved by the legal system.