Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

Write an essay in which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to use most compelling reasons and or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

While there is no doubt in the rule of nature that big fishes eat small fishes, as a nation of civilized human being, it becomes our ethical duty to protect the oppressed and stand against the oppressor. Unlike the exceptions like Mughals in India or monarchy in England, the government of any nation runs with a single motto of development and financial security and prosperity of all its citizens. And thus, the prosperity of small private businesses is usually the line of action of any government today. The government being in power has the power to protect them as well harm them. For that matter, without knowing the intentions and action plan of the government, broadly alleging them as a bane for small businesses is not justified.

Government actions might not look beneficial to the small businesses in the short term, but there are examples of government policies that have led to the improvisation of the small private businesses in the long term even when they were followed by objections from the business community of the nation. For example, when in 1990 Indian government announced liberalization of the Indian economy and set the market open and relaxed the trade tariffs, there was a fear amongst the business community that globalization would harm them and their businesses would suffer by making them compete against the giant multinational companies. However, the competition proved to be very healthy for the small businesses. They improved their standards and successfully made their grip on the market more firm than before. Eventually, India also started exporting wide range of goods and the domestic business along with the Indian economy as a whole flourished. This would not have been possible if the government would not have taken the necessary policy of liberalization of the market. Thus, this exemplifies how positive government role can be to enhance the small private business.

Along with the huge steps like opening market boundaries and making trade across boundaries economically viable and profitable for the investors, there are also myriads of ways in which the government can directly help and protect the small private businesses. For instance, the private metal extraction company Vedanta was bearing huge financial losses in the late 20th century and was about to shut, when the government came forward to aid them economically by forming a joint venture