Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.W

I prompt asserts that because it is impossible to determine an outcome of research with certitude, researcher should not limit their investigation to those province where the entity they discovered has to be of immediate and practical application. I agree with the claim that researcher should considered array of consideration as some research are of historic and intrinsic value and some discoveries are deemed valuable after the decade they are founded. However, we can predict the outcome of the research at the certain level.

Certain research conducted by physician and mathematics do have direct application in development of society. However, these researches are conducted worthwhile, and scientists are lauded for their discovery. For instance, a discovery of Black hole does not any immediate and relevant application, but is considered a pivotal finding in the area of physics studies.

Some discoveries are overlooked at their contemporary period, but future generation focuses on such discoveries, may harness the outcome of these researches for the further research activities, and can have practical application in modern society. For instance, Mendel law of genetics was overlooked at the time of discovery however, it has got eminence focus in the modern world.

Various professor and researcher, in their proposal, predict the outcome of the research. To satisfy their sponsor, the researcher, in which they are interested to conduct, will have the predicted outcome. They read various review articles to strengthen their outcome probability. Providing such tempting proposal, budgets are allocated to the researchers who are conducting research in topic like cancer, HIV-AIDS. However, conducted researches do not always have desired outcome.

Thus, researcher should not focus on the topic in those areas which have relevant and immediate application since the research can be based solely on theoretical purpose, and research outcome may have significant values after the decades of their discovery. The researches can predict the outcome of their research at certain degree based on their experience and knowledge.