Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

History is a pertinent aspect of humanity. Without the knowledge of what the past looks like, the future can not be ascertained. Learning about history is central to the existence of humans and I mostly agree with the fact that it requires creativity in construing historical accounts, documents and antiques from the past. However, creativity alone is not the only tool needed to wholly grasp the scope of historical learning.

First of all, the power of creativity is needed to understand whatever artifact is presented before you to discern. Without innovation, a bulk of the current knowledge on how human being has evolved from prokaryotes in the past to the intricate connection of cells today will not be available. Archaeologist and paleontologist have worked in synergy to provide what we know today using remnants discovered from ages past. Bones of dinosaurs, mummies from Egyptian tombs, war remains from war fronts and a host of other documents have been used to get the current body of knowledge. Without creativity, making meaning out of those discovered items would contribute no relevance to what we know today.

Furthermore, abstract thinking is pivotal to making sense out of historical documents. Having access to the documents alone is not enough, ensuring the documents is meaningfully interpreted is the essence. From these documents, making inferences about the account of narrated won’t be possible without the power of first creating an imagination about it. This imagination might not be totally true, however with the creativity therein, the information from this can be extracted for use. For instance, the history of the creation of the world as documented in the holy book will make no sense if there is no imagination to give life to the documentation. Also, the description of various chemical processes such as electrolysis will make no sense by just reading the documentation of Michael Faraday who discovered the process. With abstract thinking, these documentations are reproducible just by using the creative thinking process.

On the other hand, learning about ancient times is an exacting task that needs a meticulous approach. For these to happen, individual needs the self will and passion to pursue the acquisition of such knowledge. There are people who are not bothered about what history has to say and the successful living of an individual does not necessarily hinge on the need to apprehend history. For example, a desolate person won’t bother to know what happened to humanity in the sixteenth century. It does nothing to him and has no meaning to him. For any individual to take up the responsibility of learning about history, it often comes as a leisure or a focus of passion for the individual.

In conclusion, learning about history without doubt requires creativity and innovation in order to understand and interpret the documents, artifacts and historical account. However, creativity alone will not get the job done as there are other factors needed to fully understand the scope of history and the relevance to the recent clime.