Claim Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student s major field of study Reason Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated

Some people believe that universities should allow students to pass courses from different disciplines, since they believe this it the best way of real education. I mostly agree with this point of view and will discuss it in this essay.

Although there is not a rigid formula for being truly educated as the question asserts, I believe that since one of the main reasons of education is to flourish our talents, therefore this is essential to taste different fields in order to pursue our desired profession. For instance, we know some famous people who has changed their majors based on their interests. Among them one of well known Iranian poets, Mr Shahriar who went to university to become a doctor and after passing a literature class, he left university and started following poetry as his profession. Also attending multidisciplinary majors and classes, help people to create new things, for example Mr Bill gates started Microsoft platform by mixing technology and writing. Thus joining classes out of our fixed curriculum might be beneficial for educators to some extent.

On the other hand, if universities leave students free to choose classes amongst all majors, there would not act mature enough to pick topics and based on their personalities, it might be misleading and also risky for them, as well as the education system. Since they might be capricious and not sure about what they really want, and changing profession can lead them to a waste of time and energy. For example, one might keep changing major till their forties and not making any values for society as a work force until that age. Thereby universities must put a limit on the courses that students are able to attend during their studies.

In conclusion, from my personal stand point, letting students to seek various topics might be a double edge sword, therefore universities should make it possible while implementing some regulations in order to control its drawbacks.