Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

There could be many factors affecting someone to be perceived as being truly educated and being well acknowledged in various fields of study is merely one of them. Someone who is sophisticated and has good taste in manners, who is erudite in a certain academic discipline, or who dedicates their life in helping those who needs others to live a qualified life, each of all these factors can make someone who is truly educated. Which is why universities should not be forcing students to take a multiple courses outside of their interest.

Going to a university is a first step for students to actually live as an adult and make their own choices. Students should be able to take the courses that are related to what they wish to pursue. Taking various courses might help them broaden their perspectives but doesn't always lead to understanding all the deep concepts of each field. It could just put the students in an awkward position where they can't choose either field because the depth of knowledge in each and all areas of study they have learned is light. Letting the students to take the courses they have interest in would enable them to become an expert in the field they wish to pursue which could have them perceived as someone who is truly educated.

Furthermore, university is not a place to make students only focus on studying various knowledges. The purpose of the universities should be to help students search what truly interests them and challenge their limits. Students who are interested in volunteering to help the poor or lending their talents to teach kids, those who have the desire to help people live a more quality life with the development of computers, and those who tries to become a CEO and hire thousands of people, all of these students have the passion and ability to become the best in their fields. Having the passion and the desire to pursue their interest by educating themselves in the university should be ones who should be perceived as truly educated.

To sum up, having deep knowledge in multiple fields in academic is not the only factor that makes someone be truly educated. Also, the universities should not be forcing students to take such various courses for such reason because multiple factors could be the reason why one could be perceived as truly educated.