Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Humans are social animals and need to satisfy the desire of being socially connected to other individuals to maintain happiness. While some might claim that this could be achieved by making many new friends, I believe maintaining friendships with a small number of people for a long time is much more apropos in achiveing happiness, which makes it a more important ability. The reason to why I believe in such way will be elaborated in more detail below.

First of all, maintaining a large number of friends is quite cumbersome and can cause severe pressure to an individual. Making a new friend is actually quite easy. One can simply go to a bar, grab a drink, and sit next to someone who is alone and ask them how their day is going. However, staying as a friend requires time, money, and emotional effort. Because all humans have the desire to be loved and cherished, one needs to show an effort of spending enough time with their friends, which also indicates spending money by going to a cafe or a restaurant, and having deep heart to heart conversation. If all three are not achieved, then the so called friend would easily cut off the relationship. While maintaining just one relationship with a single friend requires all the effort mentioned above, how much more work would it be to have multiple friends? As such, having the ability to make multiple new friends would cause a lot of pressure to an individual.

Furthermore, no matter how a few friends an individual have, having at least one person who can always show love and affection helps an individual go through any obstacles he/she faces. I would like to mention an example of my own to advocate the reason. When I was in my last year of high school and was preparing for a national test, which is the only way for people to attend a university, I was under severe stress. I did not sleep nor eat for days due to nervousness and anxiety that I would receive low grades in the test. However, whenever I would fall into depression, my friend would hug me with warmth, and say that she loves me no matter how I perform in the test and that she believes I would do my best. This gave me courage to stand up and we both studied hard together until the test day. With the love and emotional support my friend had given me, I was able to receive a high score and was able to attend a prestigious university.

To sum up, maintaining a large number of friends with the ability to make multiple friends easily would lead people to have severe pressure and stress. However, maintaining only a friend who can always love and give affection would enable one to surpass any obstacles. Due to such reasons, I believe that having the ability to maintain frienship, even though there are only a few, for a long period of time is much more important in achieving happiness.