Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Leaders sometimes come to the point where they need to choose what is the most apropos decision in situations. In such situations, having a standard can inhibit them from wandering out of line. I believe that it is mandatory for the leaders to be committed to principles and objectives and should only compromise with the principles when exceptions need be accepted.

First of all, being committed to principles and objectives makes it much easier for leaders to not be manipulated by others. There are many people around the leaders who seek for the taste of power and wish to utilize that power through controlling the leader. Such people can compel the public to oppose to principles in order to grasp what they desire, even if it is for an unjust purpose.

Furthermore, having principles may maintain leaders to forbid themselves from utilizing power for their selfish purposes. Having the power to control the society may be potent to those who are dogmatic and without the advice of the principles and objectives, they can easily challenge the moral and ethical limits. For example, the former president of the United States, Donald Trump was known be a very doctrinaire leader who ignored all the principles and utilized the power to alter the society in ways that were perceived as a positive decision. He proclaimed war in a haste on China without being discerned with following the rules which asserted to be cautious when exclaiming war. He also continuously exposed himself without wearing a mask during Covid-19 pandemic, when it was lucidly written on the principle to always wear a mask when out in the public. Eventually, many advisors and the public turned their backs on him, having relinquished from the hope of making him a better president. He was known to be the worst president ever in the United States. If he had simply followed the principles and listened to the objectives, he would have made much better decisions and would not have caused such hatred from people.

Last but not least, even though the it is mandatory for the leaders to always be committed to principles, there could be situations where following the rules may not be a germane solution. Especially, when people's lives that are not protected by the objectives and only depends on the leaders choice. For example, in South Korea, principles do not ensure enough protection to innocent women who got involved in truculent transgressions caused by men. The law has the tendency of forgiving the men with unreasonable reasons such as he had been drunk or he must have had some traumatic experiences during his youth. Due to this, one of the most morbid criminal bailed out of jail after several short years and continued with his criminality to other women. The public strongly avowed that such transgression should be harshly punished. However, the leader, who was so deeply immersed in following the principles, did not give an exception to this man which led to many women still fearing of being caught up in similar criminality to this day. If the leader had provided an exception with amalgamating the principle and public opinion, it would given us a much better consequence.

To sum up, it is compulsory for leaders to be committed to following the principles and objectives, because it inhibits them from utilizing the power in dogmatic ways and helps them to not be manipulated by several selfish people. However, he/she should provide exceptions on certain situations by compromising with the public's opinion and the principles.