In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the reading passage concludes that Prunty County should adapt the same improvements as Butler County in an attempt to lower the number of accidents. Even though the author provides several reasons why such conclusion is plausible, it is rife with holes and assumptions and such flaws should be eliminated in order for the author to justify his/her claim. The flaws the passage contains will be declared below.

First of all, the author assumes that the cause of the accidents are due to drivers driving in high speed. However, high speed may not be the actual cause of the accidents. There could be many reasons why accidents occur in the highway such as, drunk driving, cutting-off other drivers dangerously, or abruptly lowering the speed which may surprise the driver who was driving right behind. Furthermore, the causal effect of exceeding the speed limit and accidents occurring should be clarified. Even if the patrol result shows that many people are exceeding the speed limit, the patrol might have been done at a specific time such as in the morning when majority of the accidents happened late at night. The author should clarify such evidences in order to warrant his/her claim.

In addition, the causes of the accidents and the highway situation in Prunty County may not be the same as in Butler County. The Prunty County may already have large enough lane widths, has smooth highways, and has full visibility at dangerous intersections and does not need to be changed. The cause of the accidents occurred in Prunty County may actually due to drunk driving. In this case, even if the highway is safe in all aspects, accidents can happen because the driver is not paying any attention what is going on while he/she is driving. The author should further investigate if the causes of accidents occurring in Prunty County is due to narrow lane widths, rough highways, and lack of visibility.

Last and foremost, the reason the number of accidents decreased in Butler County may not because of the changes described in the passage. Simply, fewer people may be using the major city roads nowadays, or people who have been causing such accidents might have moved out of the county. Or else, less people may own cars since more people are using the public transportations. For the author to use such evidence to justify his/her claim, he/she would have to circumspect the causes of decrease in the number of accidents in Butler County.

To sum up, even though the reading passage may seem plausible, through thorough investigation and reading the passage in multiple point of views, it does not stand a chance of justification. The author should provide us more information and investigate further of the causes of the accidents and clarify the assumptions that has been made.