Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

University is usually known as a place where a student can seek higher knowledge and become an expert in the field they major in. However, it can also be a place that provides opportunities for students to experience and challenge themselves without any restrictions. Moving away from their parents and living off on their own in an environment they are not familiar with and having the pressure of attending to a prestigious university eliminated, students are given the chance to explore themselves in variety of aspects in the university they attend to.

Some may argue that since students chose to seek advanced education in what they major in, they should dig deeper into their area in universities and become an expert in the field. However, the society is no longer looking for someone who only excels in one part of the field. People who are known to be versatile are more preferred in many companies since many fields are being amalgamated. It is critical to be erudite in multiple fields. For instance, in the computer science field, those who expert in only one area of the programming field, such as, programming, web designing, and analyzing data, etc. are hired as software developers which are placed in the bottom level of a hierarchy. The next level are for those who have the ability to manage people who work in the bottom level of the hierarchy. To do so, they should be familiar with at least all the basic knowledge of each computer science related fields. Furthermore, those who are in the top level of the hierarchy, need to be experts in computer science and business. They should be capable of efficiently managing software development process and turn it into a profitable product.

In addition, it is highly important to take variety of courses outside of the student's field since having all such knowledge in various fields enhance the quality of their lives. Being smart in the field of economics can inhibit them from losing money or help them earn money in a legal way, and being smart in the field of psychology can help them socialize with others better. For example, a lot of tech companies are looking for computer engineers who also majored in finance and psychology because it is essential for CEOs to be erudite in various fields to be able to organize a company effectively. Furthermore, learning the courses in engineering may enable them to understand the fundamental factors in fixing machineries on their own. Of course, these do not require them to be an expert on every fields. However, having a bit of knowledge in variety of studies may be helpful.

To conclude, being familiar with the knowledge in multiple fields can augment the lives of the students and is actually quite essential nowadays. Due to the reasons above, universities should have the students to take various courses outside their field of study.