Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

People watch television in a daily basis and because of such habit, television advertisements are usually used to entice people into focusing their attention to certain ideas or products. While it has been proven to be a highly successful method in marketing, it also has several negative side effects, especially, for young children. Due to such side effects, television advertisements should not target young children.

First of all, young children who are aged between two to five haven't fully constructed their perspective and television advertisements can affect their characteristics in a negative way. I would like to mention advertisements regarding toys targeted for children. Most of the toy related advertisements target children in each gender, respectively. They apply a disparate characteristic for each gender, such as showing aggressive and outgoing boys for toys that target boys, and shy and conservative girls for toys that target girls. Because children who are extremely young are still in the process of learning their preference and perspective, they are fully exposed without any resistance to the ideas the advertisements consist of. This can cause children to adapt stereotypical gender characteristics, making them believe that is how they should behave, even if it may conflict with their perspectives as they grow.

Secondly, because television advertisements are professionally designed to entice people to open their wallets by making them think that their current life is unhappy due to not having a certain product, it can teach children wrong consuming habits and cause depression. As mentioned above, because children are fully exposed to the advertisements, they would constantly compare themselves with the happy looking children who star in the advertisement and think that their lives are miserable because they do not own the toys in the advertisements. This can cause them depression. Moreover, whenever new toys are advertised, children would constantly have to buy new toys in order to keep themselves happy, which makes them to adapt wrong consuming habit. This habit would of course affect them when they become adults, since habits that have been adapted when young stays forever.

To sum up, television advertisements that directly target young children who are aged between two to five are fully exposed to such advertisements and can cause negative side effects, such as being affected to the ideas included in the advertisements, adapting wrong consuming habits, and falling into depression. Due to such reasons, I agree that television advertising should not aim directly toward young children.