In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the passage claims that the city government should increase the budget to enhance the riverside recreational facilities, and suggests several reasons that seem to uphold his/her claim. However, the passage is rife with holes and assumptions, which need to be eliminated in order for the author to maintain his/her claim with clear warrant. Such flaws will be discussed with further details below.

First of all, the author does not provide substantial information about how the survey was conducted. He/she should have to clarify the duration of the survey and the total number of respondents. If the survey was held only for a few hours during daytime on weekdays, then only certain types of people such as those who does not have a job would have been able to respond. Then, the collected respondents would not be reliable enough to represent the whole residents in Mason City. Moreover, there is also a possibility that not many people had answered to the survey. If only two to three people responded among thousands of residents, then the the number of responds would be negligible enough, making the result extremely unreliable.

Secondly, the author reasons that there has been a number of complaints about the river for several years, and needs to be cleaned which will encourage the residents to utilize it for recreational purposes. However, he/she needs to clarify who has been signing up for the complaints and exactly how many complaints there were. If there were only two to three complaints among thousands of residents every year, then the amount is trivial and the government should not be concerned about it. Also, maybe the complaints are coming from the same residents every year, from those who live beside the river. They may not be the ones who enjoy recreational water activities, which indicates that even though the government cleans the river, the number of residents who would pursue water activities in the Mason River would not increase.

Furthermore, the author assumes that those who answered that they enjoy water sports the most would certainly use the Mason River if it is cleaned up. However, there is a possibility that they usually enjoy pursuing water sports only during vacations or on holidays in different regions, regardless of the river's quality. Maybe they enjoy water sports only in seas, not in rivers. This would indicate that even if the government cleans the river and opens recreational facilities, it is highly unlikely that the residents would start enjoying water sports in the Mason River.

Last but not least, the author also assumes that the water's low quality and the river's smell is due to it's dirtiness. However, this is clearly a haste assumption resulting from lack of thorough investigation. Maybe the river contains certain natural components which exudes odor and makes the water murky. If this is the case, then the quality of the river would not be enhanced by cleaning.

To sum up, even though the author's claim seems plausible, through thorough investigation and reading the passage from various points of view, it is confirmed that the his/her claim is clearly unwarranted. In order for the author to maintain his/her claim with upholding warrant, he/she would have to eliminate the defects of making haste assumptions, providing lack of clear and substantial information, and lack of thorough investigation.