Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing games together is a good way to build closer relationships.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

As technology advanced, many children these days spend most of their time playing games with their friends. While some might say that this helps children to make new friends easily, it can lead to unexpected outcomes in some cases. The possible negative outcomes will be elaborated in more detail below.

First of all, while playing games could be a great ice breaker when making a new friend, it does not help in building a close relationship. In order for two individuals to become well-acknowledged with each other, heart-to-heart conversation and constant events of building each other's trust is needed. However, spending most of the time playing games would prevent such factors from happening. Because conversing with one another requires multiple abilities such as social and empathy skills, it could be perceived as a much harder process than simply playing gamees. This leads children to choosing playing games rather than getting to know their friends, ending up becoming simple game partners instead of a close friend.

Second, multiple studies have proven that games have several negative effects on children's social skills, inhibiting them from honing social abilities and leading to lack of confidence in making friends. For example, children who play violent games tend to be more aggressive to other individuals, hurting other classmates when they feel like they are being pressured to act in ways they do not wish to. This may cause other children to slowly avoid the aggressive child, leading him/her in lack of opportunities to improve social skills. As they grow, they would become less and less confident in making friends, making it harder for them to build a close relationship with other individuals.

Last but not least, children are unable to put a line between reality and fantasy because they are not fully developed in distinguishing rights and wrongs. For example, there was one happening in South Korea where a teenager killed one of his friends after playing a video game for half a day. After long hours of playing an RPG game where they constantly killed each other to expand their territories, they had gotten into a fight. After several quarrels, one teenager brought a knife from the kitchen and killed his friend due to uncontrollable aggressiveness and believing that his friend would resurrect after death because players in games usually do so. The murder had happened because he still thought that he was the fantasy world instead of reality. Eventually the teenager was arrested for murder, but he still thinks to this day that his friend would resurrect one day, not knowing that this happens only in the fantasy world.

To sum up, playing games could be a great way to break the ice between two individuals. However, because it has negative consequences, this should not be used to make close friends.