Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Earth contains various creatures and each and every species play certain roles in the food chain. Food chain is a extremely intricate hierarchy where extermination of a single living creature can cause lethal consequences. I believe that the society should try their best to protect all species even if they are not on the verge of extinction due to human activities.

First of all, just as mentioned above, all species play their roles in the food chain. An extinction of a specie whether it is getting extinguished due to human activities or not, it might have great influence throughout all species and potentially influence the human species. I would like to mention pandas that once faced eternal extinction as an example. Even though they did not face endangerment due to human activities, scientists spent all their efforts in trying to save a number of pandas from getting eradicated. They had seen the potential lethal effect brought on to humans with the extermination of the pandas. If the pandas are eradicated from the Earth, bamboos which are their main food source would flourish in the forest, causing other trees and plants such as pine trees or flowers to forestall. This would cause other animals such as squirrels and bees to face lack of food supplies, and eventually their number would decline which leads to second level predators such as fox and wolves to decline. Then, their rivals such as tigers and lions would prosper consuming all the other preys, and eventually humans would no longer have enough food to consume unless we kill them.

Furthermore, I believe it is our responsibility to protect all species because we may not have figured out what potential the species that is facing endangerment contains. For example, we say that bananas are on the verge of extinction due to humans only allowing certain type of bananas to be bred. At first, we did not care even if environmentalists were concerned of the eradication of the bananas. However, scientists later found out that bananas are essential in humans' food dietary because it contains excessive amount of nutrients such as callium and are found rare in other consumable species. Just as this example, there may be other species that are being endangered in other reasons besides human activities, and we still might haven't figured out what benefits it can provide for humans.

To sum up, an extinction of a certain specie can bring lethal effects on the intricate food chain and eventually causes malignant consequences to human species. Also we may not have yet figured whether that certain specie has certain beneficial effects for human species. Due to such reasons, I believe the society should try to protect species that are facing potential extinction even if they are not caused by human activities.