Some people believe that students should be given one long vacation each year. Others believe that students should have several short vacations throughout the year. Which view do you agree with?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

As time passes, students are put in a much more harsh environment such as having to compete with other students for a job opportunity or studying for a excessive amount of time to achieve high scores. They need a time off from their life and go on a vacation to refresh their tired souls. While some people might claim that the vacation period being longer the better, even though its a one time chance, I believe that quantity is better than quality when it comes to vacations. The reasons to why I believe in such way will be elaborated in more detail below.

First of all, going on a long vacation would be harder for students to restore their usual life. People usually do not require long days of rest to restore their normal state, and longer the days pass from their usual life, the lazier they would get, causing them to take longer days to adapt to their normal life after their vacation ends. As an example, when I was in my first year in my university, I decided to go full on with studying for a whole semester and would rest for my whole summer vacation. However, after the vacation ended, going back to my usual routine was too tiring for me because my body was already adapted to the laziness I had achieved during the vacation. Due to this, it took me a long time to regain my usual state.

Furthermore, thinking that they having only one opportunity in going on a vacation would give them excessive pressure and stress, because they do not want to waste their time. Even though vacation was given to students with a purpose of letting them take their time to rest, students would become desperate in elliciting the best entertainment out of the provided vacation days. They would cram their vacation schedule with all the things that they had desired to do and if they fail to do so, it would cause them depression. This definitely would not serve the purpose of resting and restoring their mental and physical state.

To sum up, going on a vacation for longer periods of time would make it difficult for students to regain their usual lifestyle. Also, students would become desperate in trying to make the best out of their only chance of going on a vacation, causing excessive stress and pressure. Due to such reasons, I believe that providing several short vacations throughout the year is much better for students.