Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether we can learn much more from people whose views we share than those whose views contradict our own. Indisputably, disagreement can cause stress and hinder learning, however, contradicting views provide different views which can help us better at learning. Thus, i generally disagree with the assertion that we can learn more from people whose views we share and would argue that we can learn more from people whose views are contradicting our own.

First of all, contradicting views help us to have a look at different perspective of the situation. To illustrate, let us look look at the example of government implementing a step to invest on infrastructure rather than on arts. This step taken by the government can be looked in many different ways, one may argue that the step is economically benevolent, but others may contend that the step is deleterious for the culture or society. consequently, contradicting views help us understand the situation better.

Furthermore, the contradicting views help us to find flaws or improvement in the decision taken. For example, if the government is asked to take a step, with the help of contradicting views, government would be able to refute the contradiction by improving the strategy or by correcting the flaw in the strategy.

Finally, one may argue that disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning, but discussions do not have to be stressful, it can be in a friendly manner. For example, class discussions helps you to find many contradicting views and in a friendly manner. Accepting other persons view is an important skill in life.

in conclusion, as long as healthy discussion takes place, it always help us to learn more from people whose views contradict our own than from people whose views we share .