Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

Education plays a vital role in a person’s life. Education influences a child’s future and enhances the well-being of children. Some people argue that for university students, classes should be optional; however, I believe that university students should be required to attend classes for two main reasons.

To begin with, attending classes improves the communication skills of students. Active group discussions take place in class; so, students are required to take part in the discussions, which helps to improve the communication skills of students. To illustrate, Rahul, my friend, who is a university student, is mandated to attend classes. He was required to actively participate in the group discussions that took place in class; because of this active participation, his communication skills improved rapidly and started to communicate smoothly. Consequently, attending classes will improve communication skills through active participation in group discussions.

Second, Mandating classes will help students to witness different perceptions for a particular topic. In classes, students are required to share their views on a particular topic. The group discussion helps the students to look at the situation in more than one way and witness different views from classmates. For example, I was required to attend classes when I was a university student. In economics class, the teacher discussed a step taken by the government, and the class was open to discussion; because of the open discussion, I was able to witness different views, which are different from mine, that helped me to understand the step taken by the government better. As a result, mandating classes for university students will help the students to witness more than one view.