Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

Opinions vary with the regard to the question whether mandatory or optional attendance has any difference on the quality of university education. Although open form of undergraduate education has its benefits, the compulsory attendance is difficult to overestimate. The class attendance increases the rate of knowledge perception and fosters interaction between and among students and professors.

The attendance on demand enables the students to organise their time more effectively, reducing the time spent on minor disciplines. To be specific, the minor classes fill at least twenty per cent of overall curricula. Released time could be redistributed to more essential activities such as self-development or even relaxation. It is a well-known fact that the less unnecessary classes students attend, the more productive they are on major seminars and lectures. The statistics demonstrate the higher rate of concentration among student who take day offs from their regular studying process than among those who blindly attended classes in the college curriculum.

By the same token, the students attending classes have an opportunity to be a part of academia community and realise their ambitions in the school’s clubs. For example, by attending college clubs and professional communities students can boost their knowledge in the field of study they prefer. Clubs are often designed in the way of master classes or real business cases, which provide the closest to real life experience. Moreover, undergraduates firmly believe in the helpfulness of personal meetings with professors. To be specific, professors from Stanford university are know for providing funding for student’s start-ups, thus helping talented people to rise. Additionally, professors from well-known schools often have their own businesses and much practical experience in the fields of study. This collaboration may positively affect students by sharing the natural living experience of lecturers. However, it is a kind of a quest to find an appropriate class with such strong opportunities and hidden abilities to build a trusting relationships with professors.

Furthermore, the attendance of clubs may help students to make appropriate contacts, which may be useful in later stages of career development. That is not a secret that networking plays a huge part in our day-to-day life, and in the modern era student use such applications as LinkedIn as their “working social networks”.

All in all, the networking inculcates us the ability to interact effectively with each other and make much more informed decisions throughout our lives.