Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning, this statement could be agreed to some extent but need not always be true. Also, it seems to be partly incorrect to conclude from this statement that, One can usually learn much more from people whose views he share than from those whose views contradict his own.

First of all, the statement seems to be incorrect that One can usually learn much more from people whose views he share than from those whose views contradict his own. As, Contradictions sometimes teach the indivisual where he has to imrove. Thus, listening to the views of people which contradict his own is very important. For instance Political parties share a wide range of conflicting ideas and views over a particular point. But, if these conflicting ideas from opponent parties are thought rationally by the ruling parties, help them to understand better where they have to improve. Thus, one could learn much more from those whose views contradict his own.

Secondly the reason that disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning seems to be partly incorrect, as there are times when we disagree from another's opinion. The sress developed due the disagreement may create a will inside both the parties in order to prove their view point to be correct which may lead to the evolution of new idea. For example Galileo Galiele who invented Radio, was contradicted by many scientists that, the radio waves travel in straight line and thus due to Earth's curvature could not be transmitted from one place to another. But, he had confidence over his research and proved his thought to others by introducing Inosphere present in the atmosphere which reflects the straight travelling radio waves and thus helps radio transmission of waves. If Galileo would have agreed to other scientist's opinions, the world today would have been unknown of the great invention for many years. Thus, disagreement may cause stress, but not always inhibit learning.

However, sometimes disagreement leads to conflicts which cause more and more complextions in the matter instead, people sharing same views could function better and help each other in improving the flaws in the similar manner what the other person desires. For instance, In a cricket team there are 11 players, there might be chances that all of them share different opinions and might be contradictory ones. Ultimately, the final desicion is to be made by the team captain which all have to follow. As in the field disagreement has no place and lead to stess and ultimately the team will lose. As it is said, "It is not the best team who wins, It is the team which plays best." Thus, at times people with similar opinions would funnction better and help each other prosper as disagreement may lead to stess and inhibit learning.

Thus, the claim that one can usually learn much more from people whose views he share than from those whose views contradict his own seems to be depending on circumstances. Also the reason to the claim that disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning appears to be not always true.