To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from the people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a new and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area.

The author of the given memo, who is the manager of WWAC radio station recommends to change the format of their radio station in order to reverse the decline in listener numbers. Although, this recommendation is well-ment but needs to be sustained with further analysis and evidence.

The author is convinced that there will be reversal in decline of the listener numbers once they change their current rock music format. The reason he feels to do so is the migration of retired people in their listening area. Although the retired people have moved in, but there is no evidence of previous crowd leaving the area, who were already there before the decline of listeners began and might have loved the previous rock-music format. If the previous crowd is still there then there would be no reason for decline in the number of listeners. The author has to gather evidence in order to prove that the decline in the number of listeners is only because of the immigration of retired people in the area, as there might be any other reason for example the people might have lost interest in rock music, there might be exam period of the teens in the area, who are fond of rock music or the people might have found any other better source of entertainment like Television.

The author's second contention is switching to a music format tailored to the people's tastes. Further, he says that there is decline in local sales of recorded music which suggests limited interest of people in music. The conclusion which the author draws seems to be generalised as there might be many other reasons due to which the people may not be buying the recorded music. The people might be listening to the music online or it might be expensive for them to buy the recorded version, or people might be buying the same from outside city where they might get it at much cheaper rate. Thus, the survey of the local sales is not enough to prove the lacking interest of people in music.

The author's final point that instead of rock music format they should change to a new and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in their area. There are no reviews of people about the new talk format, as upto what extent they liked the talk format. It might be the case that as the format is new the people are curious to know about it and listen to it. Although, the new talk format is presently at its peak, but this might not continue in future, they might start disliking it afterwards. Thus, the reviews of the people who have been listening to the new talk format will act as a great evidence, which seems to be abscent.

The author glosses over several questions that need to be asked about the choices of people, use of other sources of entertainment by people, other reasons for decline in local sales of music record, upto what extent are the people liking the new talk format, the probability of new talk format to maintain its interest in people. If the author mentioned this additional evidence then his recommendation would be more cogent.