Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

Learning is a continuous process. We all are students our whole life. The only way we improve and make us a better person is based on the experiences we had in the past, what do we learn out of those experiences and how do we learn to adapt the ways others behave in the same situation. Each day in our life is a new lesson , its just that we need to have a proper outlook to analyse what we learnt in a day.

If a person wishes to learn then it should not be restricted as there is no limit to one’s learning. If a person has contradictory views then there is a chance that you might see a complete different side of that situation. Your point of view is completely opposite and you get to explore a lot new ways to deal with the same situation. This helps you to get exposed to a wider range of topics which you might have not even heard of or thought in your life. If a person has different view than yours then either to sit and contend on those views or to discuss new ideas, listening to the opponent and then concluding all depends on the learner. The mentality and broad mindedness of the learner play a key role here.

On contrary, with the person whom you share similar views, then both of you will agree on very easily and there will be no disagreement but this discussion will be bound by same set of thoughts with no new way of looking at the problem. I belive there is more of easy going agreement in this case rather than any learning. Take an example, you and your friend in same college, same social background having a similar lifestyle may have many views in common. When you discuss on certain issues then you will consider the same views and nothing new will come up in the discussion. As no new topic then the discussion becomes boring and you will end up with no innovative ,fruitful conclusions.

Having a quarrelling nature will never help in learning new things. If a person is dogmatic, and is firm on his/her believes, thoughts then there is no way to change the views of such a person. So whether your thoughts match or not , such people can never learn and they will be stuck in their own world.

So, learning is a process which is influenced by many factors like willingness, broadmindedness, person`s economic, social background. All these factors together are responsible and it has no connection with whether your thoughts/views match with the opponent or not.