"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Pancakes with delicious butter and honey is a combo which is irresistible. But must say that this attempt of Happy pancake house is a courageous move. Well, this change has taken place recently and customers might not have actually felt the difference and so are not complaining. But that does not mean that the customers are unaware of the change. The change may impact gradually and customers might notice it when they have just been eating in some other restaurant or café where butter is served instead of margarine.

The fact that 2 percent of customers have complained should not be used to come to a conclusion that this replacement does not make any difference. Many customers are very adaptable and might not have found any change in overall flavour but that doesn’t mean they liked it a lot and are happy with the change.

When a customer asks for extra butter and is served with margarine instead either the customer might have thought that he/she had ordered margarine mistakenly, or there is a chance that customer might think that the restaurant is running short of butter and so is serving margarine instead thus getting impressed with the service of restaurant as they are making sure that the customer is not overlooked and is served something as an act of respect towards customer. Another possibility is that the customer might think that the old chef is replaced and the new chef and he/she recommends serving margarine instead of butter . The customers might not raise their voice as an act of honour towards the chef’s recommendations.

There are several possibilities and so the writer simply can’t conclude that customers are happy with the change as there are very minimal number of them complaining. Moreover, some customers might not notice this change as this might not be that noticeable or relevant in their point of view. The statement that customers are unable to distinguish in taste is not applicable to all as not everyone is senseless to taste. The writer must take into account the comments from some specific number of customers and then conclude if the change is a good one or not.