Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students. At first glance this claim looks reasonable and even worth pondering about. But many do not consider the various factors that are taken into account while planning a curriculum that students follow. This factors might include, the region the organization is established in, the resources they are able to acquire, availability of faculty to teach a particular subject and so on.

Educators plan these courses considering students as whole rather than for a single individual. This infers that the interests of majority is often given priority than the opinions of few. Educators, who are experts in their field and have an experience of decades in teaching and administering students ,deliberate and construct these courses in order to provide the right path to the pupil. This process is verified by other experts in the field and is sanctioned only when it is deemed appropriate and worthy. Any subject that is considered not good enough will be discarded, this include those with not enough back ground information, subjects with unclear results and subjects that are not appropriate for age of the students it is being made for.

Students are malleable creatures who do not research much before making their claims. They posses interests that are self satisfying and often benefits only themselves. This attitude is found in many pupil. Consider a student who is interested in astronomy. It is a great subject with good recognition. But forcing other students who are not interested in this great subject is counter productive. Adding to this, consider a class where the majority is interested in origami and are interested in learning it in schools or colleges. They might even make claims that it is a subject they are passionate about and wouldn't mind working hard in it. Incorporating this subject that practically adds nothing to the resumes or the skill set that a student must posses for a future, is foolish and not required.

Educators do their best to include all the necessary subjects that are needed to provide the pupil in depth knowledge of the course. This could include subjects that are harder and difficult to pass through and subjects that require at most physical work and taxing to brain. This could lead to resentment in students. Many might lose interest and not appreciate the subject enough. It is like mathematics. There are more students in the world that hate the subject than those who love it. Almost every student claim to have a bad relationship with this particular subject. Many say they do not feel any kind of motivation to continue the subject further after school or college. But that doesn't stop them from using it everyday, nor give the educational institutes an excuse to get rid of it. These hard courses share the same fate. Though it is hated, that strong dislike does not stop students from using it in that particular field and appreciating it later.

Apart from the curriculum, the way the teaching is propagated within a classroom also plays a role in determining the motivation of a student to learn. Consider mathematics again. It is a difficult and most hated subject. But having an educator with a good diction and amazing ability to make things clearer and more accurate is a boon to these students and it could even end up changing their minds about the subject. Similarly if these students are stuck with an educator who barely knows anything and have a complicated style of teaching, the hatred students share for the subject might ascend even more.