Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

The author of the prompt claims that there should be the consideration of the students’ desire during the syllabus arrangement by the educators. This claim is supported by the reason that the students are more motivated for their desired topic. I fundamentally disagree with this claim and its reason. In what is followed, I will explain the more effective reasons for the main disagreement.

The first reason which cast doubt on the reasonability of the claim is the shallow understanding of the students from the educational contents. In fact, students do not have the experience of various of the courses which should be held on during the semester; consequently, their selection benchmark is according to other students’ experiences which is not as proliferated as the educators’ understanding. A lucid example of this reason is a student at the primary school level, who do not have any idea and knowledge over the broad fields of study. Besides, his or her selection criteria will be based on his or her childish fantasy which is not accountable for comprehensive curricula requiring rational and scientific thinking.

The second reason is the futility of interest in the curriculum will the factors such as the effectiveness and relevancy of the course are more important. For instance, considering a high school student who has a better understanding of the course and his main course is mathematics and planning to become an engineer in the future; however, he also is interested in the field of literature. Does the course of literature will be effective and relevant to his future job? Of course not. In addition, by the consideration of the scanty of the period of high school for covering the required fields by the educational system, focusing on the relevant and beneficial courses in the educational program outweighs the student’s sympathy and desire.

Finally, the author reasons the motivation of learning which gained by the reading the interesting field. Actually, the motivation is the catalyst for the learning process, which speeds up the learning process and causes the data stands in the students’ mind for the further duration. On the other hand, it should be mentioned the desire over the topic is not a mere option of creating the motivation. According to the trustful statistical data released by the psychology program at Middle East Technical University, the visualization of the matter is 90 percent more effective for invoking the enthusiasm by students to follow the topic, instead of presenting an oral speech about the same topic. Or having the bi-direction classes which ask the student to freely participate and defense their understanding about the topic is more effective to motivate students to catch up the topic and follow the issues with shaper ears and eyes instead of pale, boring and one-sided classes which the teacher gives the lecture with the monotone presentation. These researches and assumed situations show there are more effective ways to motivate the students during their learning process.

To wrap it up, consideration of the student desires over the planning of school program is a vain task, since the students do not have the comprehensive understanding toward the programs’ contents and other factors such as course effectiveness and relevancy are more crucial than the students’ interest. And other factors are more effectual in the provocation of motivation at the learning process over the students’ zeal.