College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Imagine a person studying a subject not of his interest the whole life. He may be able to complete the course but will not be able to excel at it. I believe that studying a course of one’s choice is very important.

To begin with, choosing a subject of one’s interest will make him do the course with more dedication than merely passing it. For example, a student is forced by his parents to choose a certain field of course in college. Despite not being interested in it, he may sit in the class and do all the coursework. He may also get good marks but at one point, he will be frustrated and will want to leave the course. Therefore, it is necessary for a student to be interested in the subject he is learning.

Furthermore, interest in the subject will let him to go beyond the course. A student will be able to make inventions only in subjects he is really interested in. This will lead to an inner satisfaction and fulfilling career of a person. Could Sundar Pichai had been so successful if he had studied any other subject? So, subject of one’s choice only can lead to a good career.

Some may argue that without jobs it is not possible to make a career. Job is the source of income and without money life is nothing. It is possible that a person can create jobs with his skills. It is also possible that the knowledge gained by those subjects can be used in some other job. It is often said that knowledge never goes waste.

To sum up, it is nearly impossible to succeed if one studies a subject of one’s choice.