College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The claim stated in an absolute term that the choice of study field for college student is supposed to be dependent on whether a future job is available or not. The author overstated the job orientation purposes in higher education while ignored the essence of education. I don’t agree with it in general, but I concede that it applies to some people in reality.

First of all, the most important issue should be addressed in discussing this issue is the goal of higher education. In my view, it is supposed to be agreed that the original purpose of education is to get people educated, which means teaching people how to think and how to become a better human being. Apparently to get a decent paid job in nowadays seems incompatible to the traditional values where the whole education system was originally designed for. However, it should always be valued to regard college education as true education instead of a fast way to get high-paid jobs. Because we are humans rather than machines whose only mission is to work, instead we think, live and cultivate human civilization.

However, just because we want to get educated doesn’t mean we should ignore the financial situation our college choice could possibly lead us into. Career do matter. Thus, it should be admitted that the future job availability is one of the issues should be carefully considered. In the real world, there are numerous broke artists ending up homeless at the corner of the street. Even though we eventually know Vincent Van Gough, plenty of “Vincent” are buried in history, with unknown names and tragic life stories. Perhaps, to avoid the worst scenario of life, college students have to make choice with consideration of future job.

But job availability, or the money which could be potentially earned should not be the priority whatsoever. The priority should always be one’s interest. Nevertheless, the worst scenario mentioned above could only happen with relatively low probability in real world. Thus, it is definitely not wise to give up dreams for a safe future when one could get both. From this perspective, I think the claim only hold reasonable under extremal cases as discussed above.

To summarize, I generally disagree with the view presented as in think the purpose of education is definitely not to get a well-paid job. But, there are exceptional cases the point view do seem reasonable for a certain extent.