College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Education helps an individual to be aware of functionings of one’s surroundings. A child learns how to read, write, interact with their teachers and socialize with their class mates during their early stages of schooling. As the progress to middle school and high school, they would be given a basic understanding on different areas ranging from biological science to historical science and mathematical science to political science. Before graduating high school a student would be interested in any of the particular stream and they would be inclined to purse it further and become a professional in it. This is where the college education comes in.

Firstly, college education is pursued by a student to develop their skills in the field they are interested it in. So allowing the student to choose their subject and attain mastery in them is the most logical analogy that can de derived. Because without interest no matter what the subject is that wouldn’t add value to the student if they are not intended to associate in any field related to that subject. For instance if a student is trying to complete their course in cyber security it would be irrelevant for them to be forced to learn graphic designing as part of the curriculum.

Secondly, It is understood that colleges design their curriculum to help the students with a better job prospects and train or educate them accordingly. However what is designed in an umbrella model for all the students would not be suitable for every single one of them. As it simply can not account for every individual interests. Hence there should be a flexibility for the student to alter the the college designed curriculum and choose the subjects that excite them.

Thirdly, colleges could also be guiding their students on how to attain their desired professionalism in their respective field of work and also providing them guidance to be ready out for the real world and be successful in achieving better jobs as per their interests. If a student as in earlier example is considering to get a job in cyber security if he is guided by the college by sharing it he insights from any on their alumni in the same filed or a possible knowledge of the career guidance would help them decide even better.

In conclusion yes jobs are important for the survival but doing a job without interest would be horrible every day. So, it would be best if the colleges be more accommodating and allow their students the freedom to choose the skills they want to master before they land their dream job.