Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

As a student, I hold the position that all faculty should only do their own jobs which are related to their major. such as teaching students and some other researching about the area they study. Here I'll give some of my reasons.

first, if faculty are forced to do things that they are not familiar with, they won't be good at them. For example, the first chairman in china is a militarist, but after he has concurred the whole country, there are a lot of political jobs to do and he didn't do it very well. As for faculty, they may not do their jobs as good as some others who are familiar with these areas can. And this may lead to a bad situation such as student could not be able to gain the knowledge they want.

Second, faculty may lose their own specialized skills when keeping doing things which are not related to their major. there's a famous person named Yao Wei in china, and he is so good at writing poem, once he was caught by army and become one of them for over a decade. when he came back and start writing poem again, he finds out he couldn't write even a single word. so do faculty, if faculty doing things which are not related to their major, they may lot their personal skills about what they teach.

Third, it's a waste of time and resources to let people to do things they are not familiar with. As a book which is written by a Chinese doctor Chao Heng says, our society needs us to be skilled in order to save resources and be more efficiency. if faculty are trying to do things which they are not skilled enough, there will be a huge amount of waste in time and many other kinds of resource such as money.

All in all, I'm against the policy that faculty should working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.