Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Student life is indeed the best part of our life to learn, to accept and to ponder on unknowns. This time is very precious as what we learn in this time will be forever embedded in us. This is the time where one’s mentality as well as personality is shaped. The prompt suggests that colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in foreign country. I mostly agree with the prompt argue that it will be very helpful for the students for two reasons. However, I do concede that every student has different ability to adapt at new environment and sometimes it can be very hard for few people to spend a quite long time as a semester.

To begin, this world is not a small place and there are people with different skin color, height, religion and culture around us. If we don’t know them, two things could happen. Either we feel inferior to them or feel superior to them and hold a false pride which can be racial or cultural supremacy. But, in real world this is not the case. We all are same. Hunger, pain, hopes are the fundamental of human nature and they are borderless, colorless and don’t follow any particular religion. So, what can be a better way to teach this universal fact than to experience one. International student program is the best way in my knowledge to push this cultural and racial barrier. For example, a white student from Europe where he has little idea about the black people from childhood were sent to Senegal or Ivory coast for a semester. There he will learn to accept the difference between the people and be more respectful and take it by heart no one has become superior just to because of the skin color they possess. This example illustrates how sending students to different countries would serve a noble purpose by promoting equality among the students and thus shape their mentality in a better way.

Secondly, there are few issues whose effect lies in a cross-border nature. International student program will help the student to understand a certain features in one country effect another country thousands of miles way. For example, a fashion student in USA where fashion or new trends of clothes is kind of a big deal if sent to Bangladesh where most of these garments are made, he will understand this fast fashion trend actually are the fruit of child labor, underpaid labor, poor working condition etc. This will be a great lesson for him when he goes back to his country. Another example may be of regarding understanding the visual effect of climate change. If a student from a relatively less disaster prone, high carbon emitting country came to Bangladesh or Maldives, he will understand and experience how mother nature pays it back to human a rough and tough way. This will be forever in his mind and when he goes back to his country he will work and take decision in a more incisive way. These two examples illustrate how important cross border issues can be better understand and by international student program.

However, I do concede that some students may feel uncomfortable and may found very hard to adapt in the new environment due to climatic condition or food habits. Like a student from India who is vegetarian sent to middle east or any other country where he couldn’t adapt with food habit, it would certainly be very difficult for him. This small example portraits that there is certainly some barrier to this broad idea of international students and the implementation is not as easy as it theoretically as it contains problems faced by individual students.

To conclude, though having some backlashes, the importance of sending students to foreign country is much more logical and good decision to promote big and critical objective like racial equality, mutual respect, understanding cross border crisis etc. And tackling these issues are surely are the more necessary than any other things.