Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

The importance of the decision taken by political leader is not a trivial one. In fact, these decisions shape the country, pave the country’s way towards prosperity and safeguard people’s right. Here, the topic which has been selected here propose a contrast between the basis of decision making of political leaders. Some people argue that for being effective, political leader must yield to the public opinion and abandon the principles. Again, others believe that there shouldn’t be any compromise. A political leader must be strict to the principle. To be frank, this idea is not that binary as it proposes. It is much more complex issue than that. So, aligning with a particular idea strongly is not a good option. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the later argument of supporting principle and ignoring public opinion. However, I can’t fully take sides, as there are both positive and negative impact of both the arguments. There are three reasons which I would like to point out for my opinion.

To begin, the world is going through a pandemic crisis. Most developed countries have taken sufficient measure like vaccination and lockdown to lower the risks. But story is quite different for under-developed and developing countries like Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Myanmar etc. It is the duty of the political leader to conform to the principles of safety rule and impose lockdown. However, the people of these country are mostly daily laborers, they earn their livelihood on daily basis. For instance, a day laborer during lockdown imposed by government will starve to death if he stays in the home. We often say law-enforcement agency arresting them on TV. But, in their case what will they do? They keep on saying it is hard for them to abide by government protocol. So, political leader can’t just keep on strictly adhere to the law or principles. They must take public opinion seriously as there is considerable number of daily basis workers. Someone must speak for them.

But all the cases are not same. Some times supporting public sentiment is a dangerous thing. It’s a common thing in India to find ‘Guru’-master of spiritual teaching and these gurus have millions of followers who follow them blindly. But in reality, most of the time they are fake and if searched properly, there is most likely be criminal background of them. For instance, there used to be a Guru named Ramdev in Kolkata, India with thousands of followers. But in covert operation to stop women trafficking his name came up. There was enough evidence that he was directly involve into these. So, naturally the thousands of publics didn’t want to believe their favorite spiritual master can be involved into this and claimed the allegations to be conspiracy. Now, if the political leader stays with the public, he will be sparing a criminal mastermind. But obviously this very political leader will be assuring massive votes for the upcoming election. This above example illustrates that how the spiritual leaders use public sentiment for masking their criminal activity. Political leader can’t make decisions in favor of these culprits just based on public opinion. The decision must be conforming to the law and principle.

To add to this, religion is kind of a big deal in Indian Sub-continent. People sometimes do horrible things in the name of religion. They forget to differentiate between right and wrong. For instance, recently based on a silly a social media post, thousands of people together attacked minority community in a village named Mongla in Bagerhat district of Bangladesh. They massacred the small minority community. This example provides sufficient light on the fact that just a certain idea has majority of public support doesn’t imply that the idea is wrong. It is the duty of political leader to go against the public opinion and be on the side of principle and take decisions accordingly.

Therefore, it is pretty clear that there is no strict answer for the issue rather it’s a twisted one. It is much more a situation-based process. Political leaders sometimes have to consider the public opinion and compromise principles in special case scenario. But I will put principles and objective mostly in front of public opinion for decision making purpose of political leaders.