Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Nowadays is a concrete international trend to maintain that students are meant to spend a period of time abroad to strengthen their curricula and to become dependable workers. Nonetheless, there are several factors that can prove this as an incorrect platitude, as sometimes it is not logical to even require students to go abroad for any number of months. Among the many reasons for this are that: different courses of study have to be considered in their several different characteristics when comparing them with their foreign equal courses; money efforts required to go abroad can result in a unequal policy; some universities find no advantages in sending their students abroad, as the best they can seek for is in those same universities. These three aspects will now be qualified.

Each different study plan can have both advantages and disadvantages in studying in a foreign country, to begin with. For instance, consider study careers such as Law and Engineering. The first is a technical social subject through which students deepen their knowledge on several aspects of legal order and national assets strictly related to their country with only few comparisons with other foreign law systems: for such a course, experiencing a period of study abroad can result in a waste of time if there is no clear intention of specializing in international compared law. For this reason, it is to be considered unequivocal that students of Law have no real reasons to be required to spend even one single semester abroad. Engineering, on the other side, shows diametrical opposite feature: as a scientific degree, it focuses on world-wide shared issues and queries, thus being easily suitable for a period spent in another country. What is more, it is possible to maintain that in most circumstances abroad universities can more well-equipped with laboratories and advance structures for research. For these reasons, is it possible to state that a foreign university is not surely tantamount to a local one as far as engineering is considered, and not requiring students to study abroad would possibly be a parochial decision.

At the same time, though, it is unavoidable to consider the financial factor. Money can indeed be an inconvenient obstacle, and, in many cases, it can turn out to be the key for the planning of a period of study abroad. It seems reasonable, then, that this hypothetical policy of universities, namely, declaring that at least one semester abroad is mandatory, has to be adapted to the financial conditions of the single student. If this is not possible, that is, if colleges cannot sustain students in their abroad activities, then it is to be considered even unequal to force family to this sort of effort, whereas, if schools have the necessary funds to help students to deal with the economical demand, it sounds correct to implement the discussed policy.

Nevertheless, perhaps the main crucial condition that must be analysed is the quality of a college, thus qualifying the motivations to go abroad. In fact, it is widely accepted that the pivotal aspect of studying in a foreign country is not only the life-enriching experience itself, but the prestige of the University the students go to in order to add a high-quality preparation in their professional curricula. Aligning to this point of view, the circumstance that has a preponderant role in the decision of whether or not to adopt the considered recommendation is: is the University standing out among the other in the specific subject the student is specializing? If the answer is affirmative, then there is no real motivation to require the specific student to go abroad. Otherwise, the considered experience made abroad would be a wise occurrence for his curriculum.

In conclusion, the policy in question has to be strictly referred to each different circumstance and, consequently, cannot be adopted widely and without differences.