Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from

Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new,

Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to

boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

The argument claims that reducing travel time will have a positive impact on profits of the firm. While it may be the case but it has many logical gaps that should be addressed before making any conclusion. The argument should take into account whether the policy will really reduce the commute time and if yes, by how much and is it really considerable. The argument completely misses the opinion of the employees and if they are willing to adopt 10-hour working plan. These questions cast serious doubts on the conclusion made, and unsurprisingly, the plan can even affect negatively and lead to reduced profits.

The largest leap in the argument is that the commute time will be reduced to the level that it will lead to increased employee morale. The case might be that most of the employees live nearby the office and the commute time is not really high. Further, the commute time might even increase because now the timing overlap among the employees will increase in a 10-hour working pattern. And so, more people will be commuting at the same time that can lead to increased congestion on roads. This can bring down the morale and consequently the profits of the company.

Even if we assume that the commute time will reduce it is prudent to ask if employees are really willing to work for longer every day. Today about 25% of IT professionals in San Francisco suffer from back, neck or shoulder related health issues. These are shown to be the consequences of long sitting hours and less physical movement. Extending the working hours will further aggravate the problem. Thus, people might not be willing at all to make a transition from 8-hour to 10-hour work shift. If they are forced to do so it will severely affect their well-being and as a consequence performance of the company as a whole will go down.

While the argument presents an interesting claim, it does makes certain crucial assumptions. The argument omits considering if the commute time will really reduce, the opinion of the employees as to whether they are okay working for longer hours. Finally, the argument can be strengthened by quantifying the amount of reduction in travel time, and conducting a survey wherein they can obtain employees' opinion on the new working strategy.