Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic given discusses about how a nature of a parent should be.There is no steadfast rule on parenting.On one hand a parent can be strict and controlling ,always having a say in their children’s lives while on the other hand a parent can be like a friend who is easy to talk to and gives us more independence in our decisions. Although the notion of our parents being like our friends is very attractive as there is more transparency between a parent and a child,the camaraderie shared is greater but it comes with its own set of problems

Children who have been cosseted throughout their entire childhood have a very limited outlook on life. Moreover they do not have any limits to their behaviour.if a parent becomes more lenient towards their child,most probably the child becomes unruly and difficult to control. Thisis one of the main effects when parents are carefree and act like friends to their child. Secondly if this kind of behaviour is not restrained it can escalate into something bad .

Take the example of my friend Rachit.Rachit comes from a modern family that believes in giving the child the freedom he needs.His parents are very open minded and they just have one motto “do whatever you want to do but always do it with us”.this kind of leniency led to some unfavorable circumstances.Although they encouraged him to be more honest about himself,Rachit fell into some bad company and started being dishonest with his parents.His parents being more trusting in nature did not suspect a thing.Finally he was caught shoplifting and he was imprisoned.

I am not telling that this type of incident is always the case but if our parents always have a sense of what we are doing in our lives and they have certain restrictions and boundaries about what we can do we can live a more beneficial life as we are guided by our parent’s experience who have already gone through the same phase.Therefore I believe that a strict but loving control on our lives is necessary so that we never make any wrong decisions that can harm us in some way in the future.