Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement mentions that the competition between students to get high grades will limit the efficiency of the education system. However, I do not agree with the prompt.

First of all, competition is not bad all the times, but actually it can make positive outcomes. The reason is people will try their best to get the best results which can be the encouragement for improvement at most situations. Imagine a student who does not put enough effort to study and get good grades. But, when she sees her classmates' high grades, she starts to feel that she is not a perfect student. Thus, she will try to spend necessary time to make sure that she will understand the concept and will get high scores as her classmates. In this situation, the competition is a very good trigger for students to learn the courses deeply.

In addition, the competition between students is not going to limit the quality of learning and teaching. It is obvious that it can make an education system even more efficient. Consider a teacher who wants to make sure all of her students will understand the course perfectly, so she will put all students' name and their scores on the board where all classmates can see them. This strategy can really make all students to study hard to get the best score they can. In this case, there is a very high possibility that competition will make more connection between teacher and her students to work on the course materials.

On the contrary, some parents and teachers may believe that the competition will ruin the education quality which can be true in some cases. For example, a sensitive high-school student may get jealous of her classmates who always achieve higher grades than her in chemistry classes. She may change her behavior with them or get mad of them for different reasons so easily, so in this specific case, the competition will not lead to positive outcome. It actually brings the confidence of that student low and can even cause future emotional problems for her. In addition, that student may not be willing to learn the concept correctly anymore because she only cares about her scores or she might even end up cheating on exams to get high score which is not good.

It is important for all students to compete with each other properly to get high grades because it will definitely bring the quality of education even higher.