Creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence

The author claims that the only measure of intelligence should be evidence of creativity. This claim is far too extreme to accept it as a one example fits all. While creativity is depictive of intelligence in some situations, there are so many examples which disagrees with the author’s claim, and it will be unfair characterize these people as unintelligent.

Firstly, the measure of intelligence should be on a case-by-case basis, and not a blanket generalization. For example, in the academic institution, hard work, diligence, punctuality and resilience are far greater indicators of intelligence than creativity. One could argue that creative is a major indicator of intelligence especially for an arts major student, the truth is, it is not what’s most important. A student of engineering or mathematics needs to be hardworking and diligent in their education while producing excellent results to be considered as intelligent.

However, while academic excellence is an example of when creativity is not the major determinant of intelligence, there are other fields which lack of creativity would most definitely be translated as a lack of intelligence. For example, the popular American rapper Jcole, is classed as one of the greatest rappers of all time, the creativity he expresses in his music, how he tells stories through music is the true measure of his intelligence. Another example is Leonardo da vinci, the creativity he expressed in his paintings are indicators of his intelligence. However, while creativity is the true measure of intelligence for artists and musicians, hard work has also played major roles in cementing their works as products of intelligence.

In addition, intelligence could also be reflected in how an adult handles situations around them. For example, an adult that settles a family dispute by patient and listening to different perspectives and making judgment which satisfies everyone equally. Or a student union body president, that listens to criticisms and acts accordingly in order to effect change rather than having a feeling of being above criticism. It will be an unfair classification of people like this as unintelligent.

In sum, a true measure of intelligence should be based on what’s required in different aspects of life, it should be evaluated on a case-by-case basis.