If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

Experience teaches a lot, you learn ways of going about your work activities stacked with previous on-the-job knowledge, which in turn leads to a reduced amount of errors and a greater efficiency. However, this does not tell the full story when one considers other areas in which having more job experience doesn’t translate to getting the job done effectively.

As with most young graduates, a lot of whom lack work experience, if companies adhere strictly to this topic, it will be extremely difficult for any of them getting jobs. How do you get work experience when company refuse to hire you solely based on this? Companies that hire solely based on this sentiment are potentially losing out on the new and innovative ideas young graduates which their older counterparts may not possess. For example, in hiring a content producer for an advertising company, while it is helpful to have useful job experience, it is the imagination and creativity that matters the most in such a role. Therefore, companies should seek to hire based on what the job requires rather than deciding solely on work experience, since being qualified for a job, does not prove your success on the job.

Furthermore, with the increasing amount of graduates every year and the reduced amount of jobs available, It is highly unadvisable to stick to the trend of disqualifying a qualified candidate for a job based on their work experience. There are certain jobs that require physical strength and resilience in order to carry out their jobs effectively, hiring based on work experience alone may be counter-intuitive.

However, there are situations at which hiring based on work experience is the best approach. For example, when looking out for a Human resource manager, in a job like this, the most important requirement for this job is knowing how to manage a company’s resources appropriately. This knowledge comes with years of on-the-job knowledge. Hiring a manager with little to no previous experience in this field might prove to be counterproductive and in turn lead to general worker apathy. Nevertheless, if a young candidate with no experience has proof that they have the necessary knowledge and skills to carry out the job effectively, the candidate may have gone through several trainings and certifications in project management, armed with this knowledge, such a candidate should not be disqualified based on their lack of experience.

In sum, the major decision for hiring for a candidate for a job should be based on a case by case requirement. Hiring based on one criterion over the other may prove to be vital in some areas, while it may prove to only be an added not-so-important advantage.