Creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples

that could be used to challenge your position.

Considering creativity as the only measure of intelligence is like saying only the fruits that are rich in vitamin C are considered as fruits, letting go of all the other vitamins and other factors such as taste, likeability, usability, availability, etc. By this analogy, it is crystal clear why considering only creativity as one true measure of intelligence is inherently flawed.

Intelligence is defined as the ability to acquire knowledge and implement skills. Despite having the definition of intelligence, measuring it remains one of the most challenging tasks. There are numerous standardized tests available all working on different algorithms to measure a person’s intelligence. All of them falling a yard short of coming up with a concrete method of measuring intelligence. A reason for this shortcoming is that there are too many variables involved, such as knowledge, expertise, observation, creativity, etc. Saying creativity should alone be used to measure intelligence would make the aforementioned problem go away but that would mean that a painter or a writer is more intelligent than a football player or a doctor, only because a painter is more creative.

One big reason why it is so hard to measure intelligence, is, the fact that there isn’t a single type of intelligence. Every field of science or arts have their own geniuses, each different from the other (like all fruits are different). We have neither right nor the means to compare Picasso to Albert Einstein, or Steve Jobs to Leonardo da Vinci. Each one of them is a genius in their own regard possessing intelligence that is different than the other, some of them are creative, and some of them are not. Thus, before we set out to measure intelligence, we must first determine what kind of intelligence we are looking for. Do we need an engineer or a painter or a sports athlete? In one or maybe two of the mentioned fields, creativity would play a major role, but in the last one creativity is of lesser importance as compared to other factors such as skill, expertise, and observation. Going back to the fruit analogy, as every fruit has its own unique blend of vitamins; likewise, every genius has its own blend skills that make up its intelligence.

Creativity does play an important role in measuring up intelligence but that isn’t the only factor. While intelligence is coming up with a solution, creativity is figuring out different ways to implement that solution. Thus, creativity is a part of intelligence and not the only factor to determine it.