Creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be sure to address the most compelling reasons and

Creativity comes from imagination. Often creativity is misunderstood for intelligence, where intelligence has different meanings depending on the situation we are in. Creativity is definitely a necessary skill for people to pursue things differently but it cannot be treated as a measure of intelligence. This is because we often tend to relate intelligence to the ability to showcase our skills in front a group of audience such as a quiz program, in scoring high scores in an exam etc. This means that creativity cannot be the one and only measure to determine one's intelligence. It could be considered as one of the measures of intelligence.

Consider, an example where a mathematician comes up with a new theorem. Here we say that the mathematician had been intelligent to propose a new theorem and not creative. Of course, there would have been some amount of creativity involved in places where the mathematician was trying trial and error before arriving at the correct solution. This shows that creativity is not viewed as a measure of intelligence since intelligence is not solely determined by a single factor. At times, intelligence is also spoken in relation to the profession you do. If you are scientist then intelligence is valued based on your ability to come up with a new theory; if you are cab driver, then intelligence depends on your ability to drive the cab carefully and so on.

Consider, another instance where are teachers for two different subjects, say, art and science. When a student is asked to perform well in science exam he is supposed to use his knowledge gained from the subject during his classes and present his answers in the exam along with his point of view. Here, we say that the student is intelligent if he scores high marks than the other students in his class. On the other hand, when we look at the art subject, it is necessary to consider the creativity aspect of the student in order to value his/her work. This is because art is something related to our imagination. The things we see in our daily life will create a piece of story in our mind and this story will be reflected when we are asked to draw an art. Even in this case along with creativity, the ability to transform our mere thoughts to art is also important to measure intelligence.

There might be some concessions where creativity could play a dominant role in determining intelligence. But those cases are very rare. In many cases, we tend to confuse intelligence with creativity. Intelligence is generally an complex measure wherein a single determinant would not be sufficient.