The way a message is delivered is often more important than the message itself

It is indeed true that the way in which a message is conveyed is more important than the message itself. Often we come across situations where we advice people or give inputs to someone to improve or enhance what they do. But it is not always going to result in a favorable outcome. It will result in a propitiate outcome only the message you have conveyed has reached the person correctly. Let us consider few examples to support this notion.

Consider, an example where a student is making a mistake in his/her exam. The teacher calls him and elucidates why it has been marked as a mistake and how to arrive at the correct answer. This is one way of conveying the message. In this case, the student will understand the teacher's motive of marking the mistake and the student will try to avoid committing the same mistake in the future. On the other hand, if the teacher had behaved in an extreme way, say, if the teacher had excoriated the student, the student would have got demotivated and discouraged and the student might might even create an aversion towards the subject. This shows how conveying a message plays a vital role.

Consider, another instance where a person has met with an accident and the public has admitted the person to the hospital. This news has to be conveyed to the person's family members. In this case it is very important to stay calm while conveying the message. Since, the message is not an expected one the conveyer of the message should not be too harsh on delivering it. Otherwise, it will create panic for the people who listen to the message. The conveyer should have a polite tone and convey the message with subtlety. This tells us how important is conveying a message rather than the message itself. The method with which the message is conveyed can change the overall mood of the actual message.

There are certain concessions as well with my stand. There can be circumstances where a message has to be passed really quickly. In such cases, there is no actual time to think how the message can be conveyed. But majority of our day-to-day situation requires proper communication or conveyance of the message.