Two years ago the town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel During the past two years tourism in Ocean View has increased new businesses have opened there and Ocean View s tax revenues have risen by 30 percent The best w

Tourism is very important in improving the revenue of a nation. It promotes the nation's economy and helps the nation to build a cordial relationship with other nations. Increasing the number of tourist spots in a nation would help in communicating the aesthetics of a nation to other countries thereby improving its revenue. But it is not necessary to improve the revenue from tourism alone.

The argument says that the tax revenue has increased by 30 percent. But it cannot be concluded that the tax revenue will always be on the rise. Tourism will generally attain its peak only during particular seasons. For example, people tend to spend their summer vacation in colder regions and vice versa. This means that for the rest of the year when there are no large number of tourists, the government has to take care of the maintenance costs of the tourist spots. This will also cause reduction in the sales of the businesses opened newly near the tourist spots. Hence, this increase in revenue cannot solely rely on the opening of tourist spots and new businesses.

The argument also says that building a golf course and a resort would increase the tax revenue. This statement should also consider the location in which the golf course and resort is going to be built. This is because some places are popular for their natural destinations like wildlife sanctuaries, waterfalls, parks etc. In those places the tourists will not be attracted towards artificial structures like resorts and golf courses. Determining the purpose of tourism in a particular place is very important before bringing up an idea of building a resort or a golf course. Also, it is important to understand that resorts and golf courses are not the only sources for improving the tax revenues. In some highly sophisticated places, where there are already high number of resorts, building a new resort would make no sense and will not contribute much towards the revenue.

Whenever a new idea is to be brought in the pros and cons of the idea has to be analyzed in order to be well informed. To conclude, it is necessary to have a clear picture that tells what are the existing tourist places, are those tourist places already giving a good enough revenue, what are the areas of improvement in case a tourist spot is not performing well in terms of attracting the tourists, etc.