Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Criticism of any work is any important part of the evaluation system. It is the job of the critics to point out the flaws of any kind of work and thus enable its further development. In our current society where people have quick access to information and with the aid of social networking sites such as Facebook, it has become very easy for almost anyone to express their views in any subject. The prompt mentions a need for the critics to be an expert in the concerned field in order for the criticism to be of any value. There is some merit to this notion but it is not entirely acceptable for the three reasons.

To begin, it is not possible for everyone to be an expert on everything. But that does not mean that they do not have the right or ability to express their own views on any matter. For instance, in Bangladesh floods are a common phenomenon during the rainy season. Due to the numerous rivers scattered throughout the country, people have to face extremely difficult situations during the rainy season. The problems are exacerbated when dams are damaged by the floods and water enters into the homes of the people who live in low lying areas. During this situation, the local people can be seen criticizing the government officials and local representatives for their ineptness. The news and media channels make a wide coverage of these criticisms. The people are not an expert in flood control, but that does not mean that their sufferings are not real and that their opinions hold no value. Since they are the ones suffering year after year they have the utmost right to express their troubles. So, although they are not experts, their opinions do matter.

Furthermore, it might be possible for someone who is not an expert in the field to give a proper and useful analysis of the subject. For instance, a student with a degree in life sciences might be interested about paintings and learns about them at his own free will. So, it is possible for him to give an analysis about any painting which creates interest in his mind. Although he might not be an expert in painting, he might have the capabilities of explaining a painting in detail. Again, you don't have to be an expert to see that construction workers have done a lousy job on making roads when the roads break down after just a year of construction without any mentionable disasters.

Again, expert opinion is a must in many cases. For instance, for any kind of medical problems, it is a must to take the advice from doctors. If people do not take advice from the medical experts and instead opt for self medication, it might cause more problems and increase the severity of the disease.

In conclusion, it is expected that criticism and analysis must come from experts of the field. But it is not at all feasible to disregard the opinions of the non experts because everyone is entitled to having their own opinions. Whether, the criticism should be taken lightly or strongly often depends on the situation and also the quality of criticism delivered.