The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large.

Desires, especially the ones pertaining to monetary benefits are frowned upon in general while disregarding the fact that money runs our everyday life, economies in general. Everyone wants to move up the ladder when it comes the financial well-being but if someone succeeds we look at them with disdain. Money has become the forbidden fruit of the present world.

I believe the desire to maximize profit is a universal one. People, organization (even religious and spiritual institutions) desire money not just for the sake vanity but also for the sake of achieving higher goals at a scale wherever everyone including them benefits. There is no wrong if corporations are voraciously fighting to satiate these desires as long as they are within the legal boundaries of the nation.

To think that when corporations flourish and earn, it is at the cost of welfare of the general public is a flawed argument. Corporations are not an isolated phenomenon. They give employment to the people of the same society. When they make profit, they are legally bound to share that profit with the nation in terms of taxes. The strength of corporations determines the robustness of a nations economy. The employees too get their fair share of the profit in some corporation.

All corporations across the world indulge in some form of philanthropic endeavors. Facebook's CEO has promised to share huge chunk of the profit with the society in some form of social work over the years. The Bill and Milanda Gates foundation has indulged in social reforms across the world especially the under-developed and developing countries. Warren Buffet has donated almost everything he has earned. And they are doing all this while they are changing the map of technologies used by us.

As long as the corporations are adhering to legal formalities and environmental laws in the fullest of form they are not in conflict with the nation and the welfare of people. They in fact augment a nation's economy, help in eradication unemployment, improve living standards and also lets the people of the country share the fruits of its fortunes.