"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

Corporations tries to maximize profit but doing that they creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. A successful company will always tries to maximize their profit because all shareholders of that company wants profits to maximize.

But in maximizing profits, they creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation. Many times we have seen, a employee working hard all those years in a single company, but doing period of uncertainty in economy, big corporations fires their most loyal employees. Apart from previous example, many a times we have seen company considering their employee just as a cattle, entitled to work for their company. Employees are not given due respect and if a employee revolt against the injustice, he is warned and admonished of getting fired from his job.

Additionally, in order to maximize profit, companies need to lower the operational cost of running their company. Lowering the cost of operation involves truncating their wage budget. So company maximizing their profit is inversely commensurate to decreasing their wage budget. Walmart is a very good example for the previous case. Many citizens of America revolted against the most revenue generating company. Walmart always featured first on fortune 500, but their is internal dissent against the company policies.

Also, big hospitals in order to maximize profit, sometimes delay the recovery of the patient. As patients are quite naive in the field of medicine, they have no option but to listen to their doctor. Now a doctor may prescribe a multi-vitamin tablet, which has nothing to do with the patient disease, but doctor has prescribed the multi-vitamin tablet in order to earn some commission by helping it sell.

Nevertheless, there have been some example, where maximizing profits for a corporation tantamount to collective good for it's employees. In a fledgling startup, earlier employees are given minor stake in the startup. We have also seen some employees getting compensation proportional to company performance in a given financial year.

Companies will always tries to maximize their profit, as all shareholders and stakeholders have this goal. They invested their money in order to earn more money. This will create conflict with the welfare of the nation. Employees wages will be small in order to reduce operation cost. But few early employees of startup will also get benefited with increased revenue of the startup.